Leading by Nature: Regenerative Leadership and Mentoring

Jannine Barron
4 min readJun 18, 2022

--

I am about to take a group of sustainability leaders on a nature walk over Matlock in the Peak District of the United Kingdom. We will climb through farmland, woodlands, atop cliffs, and stroll along the Derwent River. I will observe their interaction with the environment and assist them in reflecting on how they operate and lead their companies. It will be a relaxing, memorable day out for the leaders and a creative, intuitive approach to strategy and regeneration. The leadership lessons and the strategy that will unfold after this day will be long-lasting. I know this, so I am excited.

Arriving in Matlock, I notice the spectacular cliffs above the Derwent River. This town is a tourist destination with a mining history and deep nature connection. I immediately feel I am somewhere special despite the abundance of ice cream, doughnuts, takeaway, and gift shops. There is even a cable car ride.

View from Matlock Bath Tor for our Regeneration Walk

I dug a little deeper, and some facts emerged from a regenerative perspective. Firstly, we are about to walk the oldest public pleasure ground in continuous use in the UK since 1742. This raises my eyebrows.

The need to create a designated outdoor leisure walk speaks volumes about the importance of nature at the time, most likely for the miners and mill workers who would have worked long hours indoors and underground.

A few miles from where I’m standing, in the heart of the Peak District, a Mass Trespass walk took place in 1932. It was to protest the threat of laws stopping public access to the countryside. Their peaceful action led to legislation securing public rights of way in the Peak District for walkers that rippled all over the UK.

Knowing we are about to walk in these footsteps today has significant meaning that I want to acknowledge with the leaders. I have access to nature today because of the actions of those before me. Whatever nature our grandchildren will inherit is up to our efforts today. What actions and decisions will they make today for their families and company?

MATLOCK BATH on the Derwent River

Then I learned that these cliffs were the last place Eagles nested in the UK in the early 19th century. The extinction occurred in my parents’ lifetime, but their renewal is just one generation later. Eagles have been reintroduced in Scotland, and they are breeding again. With vision, strategy and a plan, regeneration is possible in all areas of life.

This town is the birthplace of the industrial revolution. The previous day, I had driven into town past the local lead mining museum via the small village of Cromford. A town boasting the invention of the world’s first successful water-powered cotton spinning mill in 1771 by Richard Arkwright.

From a regenerative perspective, the industrial revolution is a critical moment in our’ journey of separation’. That separation is the human disconnection from nature resulting from industrialization and city living. Reclaiming this memory and connection to nature is one of the most important themes of our day today. What decisions can we make to ensure connection in our workplaces and factories? What will make our ideas of sustainability be sustained? Is there a next step of regeneration where our companies can give more than we take?

Public Footpath Signs in the UK inviting us to use our public access rights in nature.

This brings us to me at my computer, penning these thoughts. It’s time to meet the leaders, so I will head off early to have a moment myself before the river. I can see from my room that it is flowing beautifully. I have one more task: exploring the theme for the day. Using a unique intuitive method, I receive a message that seeds would be planted today.

A significant aspect of a regenerative journey is knowing your starting point, where you are on your trip now and where you envision yourself. I trusted my instincts to come to Matlock, and before we took one step into nature’s boardroom, the town was already reflecting my regenerative leadership to me.

It’s time to go and find out what those seeds are and ensure those leaders will return to their companies, ready to share their stories and lead from their hearts and vision. Just deciding to come today speaks volumes of their passion and commitment. I can already feel the expansion that will result from this experience.

Jannine Barron

Regenerative Business Mentoring

--

--

Jannine Barron

Regenerative Business Mentor: Supportive, Intuitive Content Co-creating with leaders and change-makers for a healthy planet. https://www.janninebarron.com